5 US States with the STRICTEST Driving Laws!
- February 6, 2020
- Posted by Ganish KVR
- Comments Off on 5 US States with the STRICTEST Driving Laws!
There are STRICTEST Driving Laws Let’s accept it. Despite our continuous claims to be a perfect driver, we’re all guilty of reckless driving now and again.
STRICTEST Driving Laws From speeding, drunk driving, and playing with our devices behind the wheel to not wearing seat belts, there are certain driving rules violations most of us have committed at some point. America’s roads are not safe, but some states are keeping traffic laws strictest than others to minimize the risk of accidents.
Although you as a driver should be careful while driving, consider paying extra attention while passing through these states. You can end up paying heavy fines or losing a license if found guilty.
Here is a list of the US states with the strictest driving laws in the nation.
Georgia STRICTEST Driving Laws:
Georgia passed the Super Speeder Law in 2010. According to this law, a driver can be “speeding at 75 mph (120 kph) or more on a two-lane road or at 85 mph (136 kph) and above on any road or highway in the State of Georgia.”
If you are awarded a Super Speeder ticket, you are subject to pay fines and fees that are determined by the place you found violating the speeding limit. Even worse, you have to pay a $200 flat fee to the state of Georgia. Otherwise, your license will be suspended until you pay another $50 to the state plus all your fines. Therefore, be careful while hitting on the roads of Georgia.
Delaware STRICTEST Driving Laws:
Like Georgia, Delaware is also known for its stern driving laws, especially for reckless driving. The reckless driving is defined by the state as “any person driving any vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
If you are found guilty of reckless driving in Delaware, the first offense slaps you a fine between $100 to $300, between 10 and 30 days imprisonment—or both. If you again convicted of reckless driving within three years of a prior offense, the fine would be as huge as $300 to $1,000, and between 30 and 60 days imprisonment.
New Jersey STRICTEST Driving Laws:
Be careful while going through New Jersey. It is one of the US states with tough traffic laws. Getting caught exceeding a posted speed limit by 10 mph or 16 kph means being charged with racing on public highways. Yeah, that might not be close to the term “racing,” because the cops don’t have to prove you were into racing. But the law seems to crack down on the state’s street racing culture.
New Jersey’s guidelines state,” no person shall operate a motor vehicle upon a public highway for a wager or in a race or for the purpose of making a speed record.” The penalties are determined by the nature of your speeding offense. You can lose your license for up to one month and it can make your vehicle insurance rates go up.
Virginia STRICTEST Driving Laws:
The state of Virginia also requires you to be careful with your driving. You can be convicted of reckless driving with the speed exceeding 80 mph or 128 kph across the state or for exceeding the posted speed limit by 20 mph or 32 kph. You can be cited for reckless driving based solely on the cop’s observations. Plus, you can be slapped with the penalty that could be $2,500. Even worse, you can be imprisoned for a year as well as lose your license for up to six months.
Oregon STRICTEST Driving Laws:
Oregon’s driving laws are not less than any nightmare for an offender. The state has set the highest fine for first and second-time offenders. The state defines reckless driving as “a person is aware of and consciously disregards a substantial and unjustifiable risk that the result will occur or that the circumstance exists.”
A convicted driver has to pay maximum penalties of $6,250, a year in jail, and five years of probation.
So these are the some US states with strictest driving laws. However, these laws are made to deter dangerous traffic to ensure safety to both drivers and other people. Therefore, whether you are driving in one of these states or the states with the lenient traffic laws, be careful as minor negligence can lead to a serious accident. Follow the rules and drive safely.